Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Famous misery!

2003-02-07 - 8:32 p.m.

I just got a dollar. Whoop-de-doo. Don't know what to use it for. Maybe I should invest it in the Stock Market...

Today I heard Moonlight Sonata over the intercom at the school where my mom works. I'm gonna go edit my profile and put Beethoven under my list of favorite music. I've always liked Beethoven, but it never occured to me to put him down as a favorite. Stupid me, forgetting my classics.

I love classic stuff, from the music of Mozart to the literature of Shakespeare and Poe. There is much we can learn from these people, especially the miserable ones. I guess that's what draws me to classical stuff in the first place - all the sorrow and misery these people went through. I read a saying once that went something like: "All truly great people led miserable lives." I believe that. Think about it: Beethoven was deaf, grouchy and died cold and alone. Poe fell into alcoholism and never recovered after his wife's death. He lived his entire life remembering and missing her. Einstein saw terrible things and barely survived the Holocaust by fleeing to America, and he was a genius. Their lives can sometimes be even more interesting than what they're known for! Oh, the tragedy! I better go change my profile quick before I loose patience with myself...

previous - next