Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Yummy, yummy, yummy, I've got grief in my tummy...

2003-02-28 - 8:39 p.m.

The doorbell rang this morning at around 7AM. Even in the depths of my closet, I heard it distinctly. But I didn't move, didn't budge. Part of me was afraid. I dreaded the doorbell, for I associated it with the early call my family got yesterday morning. It rang again. I heard my mom get up from her bed and move through the house towards the front door. Soon, everything was silent once more, and I drifted back into an uneasy sleep.

****

It turns out that the morning caller had been one of the boys from across the street. He had come over to give us Kelly's collar. His family had taken it off him the day before so they could call the number on the tag. I had called them back yesterday afternoon before I buried Kelly; it didn't seem right to me to bury him without his collar, but no one ever answered the phone, so I had to bury Kelly without it.

But now I have it back, and the instant I had it back in my possesion, I put it around my wrist like a strange charm bracelet. I'm still wearing it, though I know it makes my mom feel a bit uneasy. It brings me a strange comfort, for the tiny blue cascabel jingles with every move I make, and it's almost as if he were following me. I know that's a bit sick on my part, but I'm just not ready to let go of him yet.

****

Also, today I was supposed to go to a rap concert with one of my few friends, Maria. It was D-12, Miss Jay and Benzino performing. We had gone and bought the tickets two days ago, but ever since Kelly's death yesterday, I haven't really been in the mood for anything. Yes, I do make this big a deal over a cat. He was my damn cat, wasn't he?

Well, fortunately for me, the concert was cancelled. Due to bad weather conditions or somethin'. So we went to The Panda instead for some take-out.

Ah, The Panda... *sigh* How I love that place. I almost enjoy being there as much as I like being holed-up in my closet. I especially like going there after some tragedy occurs in my life. Like when Marco died. In fact, the first time I ever went to that resturaunt was right after his funeral. Yup, I got some good memories there. Not that I like death or anything of the sort, no way. Marco's death, like Kelly's, was a terrible blow for me. I wish they were both still with me. However, the resturaunt is such a tiny, quiet, out-of-the-way place that I was able to mourn in peace. No gushy sentiment from overly-sympathetic (and sometimes hypocritic) aquaintences, or crowding from worried family members. Just me, a stranger sitting alone in my misery at a table by the window. The waitress, Sylvia: always nice and attentive, but never intusive. It's a very nice and calming place. Plus, the food is FRICKIN' good! Cheap, too.

Today I got what I always get: sweet n' sour chicken, fried rice, and chicken-vegtable soup. Oh, and an order of crab puffs. Yum. It fills up both my stomach and my soul.

*Sigh...* I gotta go now. I'm still so full...

previous - next