Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

call from Dud! & it shall be called... ROCKY

2003-04-09 - 20:50:40 Hrs.

Ooooo!!!! I'm typing straight from a lap-top computer! Cool! I know it sounds rather lame to most, but hey - I'm poor, alright? This is the first time I've actually touched one of these things. Of course, it ain't mine. But I'm havin' FUN!!!!!

Oh, my sis called today! She says they moved her and some other people from her unit to another facility, but she doesn't know where to exactly. She was eager to know what's going on in the war, because they're not well-informed over there. My mom tried to put her up-to-date on the most important stuff. Then I talked to her for a while and told her about the new 'family members'. She freaked out a bit about Weirdo, but was thirlled about the tiny slider. She instantly said,"Name it Rocky." So now the turtle is not turtle, but Rocky. And she thought it was awesome that my mom got the cotorritos. Damn. Mom probably failed to mention the fact that now I'm the one who looks after them. They're so noisey! But anywho's...

Ironically, although she's being engulfed by a completely different culture, I found Dud sounding more Mexican than I've ever heard her. She said that everyone from her unit is talking this way. I figure that in such a tense and strange enviornment, our culture is all they have to cling on to. I promised her I'd send her some 'dulce mexicano' ASAP. That means it's off to Mexico this weekend with my dad again... We're gonna have to buy a SHITLOAD of mexican candy, 'cause Dud always makes a point of sharing. And there's lots of mexicanos over there with my sis, believe me.

*sigh...* Mom's in here watchin' TV. I'd better get a move on and start on the vacuuming, 'cause otherwise I'll be rushed later.

previous - next