Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Origami

2003-05-13 - 19:37:??

"Or am I origami, folded up and just pretend, demented as the motives in your head?" - some rock song

My mom's birthday's coming up and as usual, I got no cash to get her a present.

Yeah, right!

I've got a bank account with almost 2 grand in it, and I aim to make use of it this year. I've never had money in my life; always been poor, barely getting by with what mom could get doing what she could to keep us alive. But that was years ago. Now we've got our own real house, and for the first time in my life, at age 19, I get my own room. Things are slowly looking up for the better for my family and me. We've had to make sacrifices, but we're gettin' there. O'course, I'm not gonna act rashly and blow all the money I have now on trivial things, but then again, my mom's not a trivial thing.

But I'm still not gonna blow all my cash. I'll get her something simple, 'cause I know she'll appreciate that more. She likes us to save our money.

Dud called me and asked me to set up an extravagant order of assorted flowers for my mom's birthday. Y'know, on behalf of us both. It's a beautiful gesture, but I've always felt that I've had to depend on my sister for anything financial. It's either Mom pays this for me, or Dud pays for that. So although I appreciate Dud's intention, I think I'll get Mom something simple from me, and if Dud wants, I'll still get the arrangement, but it will only be from her.

*sigh* Maybe I'm just crazy...

previous - next