Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

the Ring

2003-05-22 - 20:17

I just read crackheadred's latest diary entry . Great. Now he's got me thinkin' 'bout the Ring. Has anyone ever seen that movie? I haven't seen the American version, but I have seen that OLD-ass Korean version. Yes people, Hollywood ain't that original. But I guess the Korean version's not that old. Yet despite it being in a foreign language, it's still twisted as shit!

It all began with Art, my sister's boyfriend. He's into movies that almost no one has heard of, like Battle Royale. Yeah, that's another oriental movie, but this one's Japanese. It's a demented take on Lord of the Flies, I think. But anyhow. The point is, about a year and a half back, maybe two, Art brings over all these movies that I'd never heard of before. He had just gotten himself a new DVD player, and he wanted to try out how it worked on foreign films. I think he knew all along that it could play them really awesome (unlike some DVD players, that will only take english shit) and he just wanted to show off a little. Y'know: "Hey, I'm Art, and I got this really great DVD player that can play foreign DVD's and shit. AND I got it at a lower price than those supposedly high-tech ones too. Do I rule or what?" (Actually, Art never talks like that, but I like to pick on him. He does that to me too, y'know. It's just the way we get along. Nice, huh?)

So he hooks up his new foreign DVD-playin' thing to our TVCR and we dim the lights. He's never seen this movie before, he says, but a friend told him it was VERY creepy. I think we had bickered earlier or somethin', 'cause they invited me to watch the thing and I said no. I think I was in a sour mood for some reason, and didn't want to hang out with them. So my sis and Art watched in the living room eating pizza while I pretended to ignore them in the kitchen eating... sandwiches? I forgot. But whatever it was, it wasn't as good as pizza. The movie started and I could hear the Korean dialouge (it had english sub-titles). I must admit, I was DYING to watch, but I had too much pride, and I was NOT going to be the one to bow down to my sister's big-shot boyfriend. (Art's not really a big-shot, but that's what I was thinking at the time.) Still, I DID scoot my chair quietly over to the kitchen doorway where I could see the television set. I wasn't close enough to see the sub-titles, though. Damn it!

And the movie STILL gave me chills, though at first I couldn't understand SHIT of the plot. But I started getting wrapped up, and soon I was thinkin': "FUCK the dialouge, this shit rocks!" When my sis explained it all later to me, I tingled some more. Scary-ass shit, that movie.

From what I've heard now (like I said, I haven't seen the American version), Hollywood tried their best to stay faithful to the original, but naturally edited out some stuff. The Korean version is a lot more graphic, and some of the plot is even different from the American one. I guess people over there don't scare so easily. My sister's best friend Maria saw the American one and has never seen the Korean version. So she and I are always bickering over which one is better. It's funny, 'cause I tell her that if she's freaked out by the Hollywood version she's a wussy and would crap her pants if she saw the original. But she swears that the english version is better. I dunno, it's stupid. I don't know why we even argue over it, 'cause I've never seen the American one and she's never seen the Korean one... so we can't really compare them, y'know. Not until I see both will I be able to come up with a clear criticism of the two. Not that I NEED to see the Korean version again. I just want the living daylights scared out of me again. And again. And again. Then I'll end the night with Battle Royale and have nightmares. Or with Dog Soldiers and laugh and shudder at the same time. But I'll have to ask Art for the DVD's... Yeah, right. Like THAT's ever gonna happen!

previous - next