Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Poims and tummy-aches

2003-11-25 - 20:17

My sister was feeling feverish, but now she's much better. My stomach churns like the lava whirpools of Hell... Anywho's.

Oh! I just remembered! I'M A PUBLISHED AUTHOR!!!!!

Well, almost. The book comes out in Winter of 2004. But my shit's still gonna be in it. Ha! Yes, I am gloating.

It all began like this:

My sis gave me the link to a poetry web-page that was hosting a contest. All poems entered had to be 20 lines or less. My strong point is on writing stories, but I write some poetry, so I decided to give it a shot. Y'know, just for the fuck of it. And for a grand prize of 1,000 buckeroo's, how could I resist? So I entered the contest on a whim, almost. Spur of the moment thing, really. I have some of my poems written down, and some I have saved into my computer, but I was entering the contest on one of the computers from the university, since I have no internet access at home, and I there I was, poem-less. I am not arrogant enough to know my poetry by memory, 'cause to be honest, I don't think I'm that good. My strong point is stories, as I have said. Written. Typed. Whatever. The point is, I couldn't think of anything to write. So I entered the only poem I could recall at the moment, which I only know by memory because it is less than ten lines long. Eight or nine, I don't remember. And they're short lines, as in only three words each. So I entered that. I was hoping, but certainly not expecting much. That's my life motto, by the way: Hope for the best, but expect the worst. So I did.

And I made it to the semi-finals. I got a letter in the mail telling me so. Now my poem is going to be published in a book! Wow. I've always wanted to be in a real, honest-to-goodness book. It's gonna be hardcover too! Jeez, I'm all tingly and shit.

Now my sis thinks that I should start on my book. (That's my life goal, write a book...) But I think I'll wait a while... at least until the contest is over and I know if I got anything or not. Here's hopin'. (But not expectin'.)

previous - next