Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

las prioridades de Juan

2004-02-16 - 21:41

The last time I wrote/typed in this shit, Pablo was in the hospital, dying. Now my uncle is dead. Pablo is still in the hospital, but I don't know how he is. I think Dad got more shook up about Pablo dying than about his own brother's death. That's my father, everyone.

I really think that summs up my father's personality, these two incidents. For friends and aquaintences, he'll do everything and anything. He'll sacrifice everything, including family. And when it comes to family... well, he thinks a couple of bucks will help make things better. He sent his brothers, sisters and stepfather 100 bucks so it wouldn't hurt so much to bury their youngest brother, and in Andres's case, his only son. I heard the dissapointment and sorrow in mi Tia Pera's voice when I told her over the phone that my dad wouldn't be able to make it. 'Pero les va a mandar dinero por Electra,' I told her, trying to sound reasurring. Yeah, 100 buckaroos are goin' your way, Tia. Her voice wavered and I could envision the light fade from her watery eyes. 'Pero yo hubiera querido que el viniera...' I could've killed him then. Of course she doesn't give a shit about your fuckin' american dollars, you bastard. She wants her brother, she wants you.

Tio Chavelo was buried yesterday at 6 P.M. He was supposed to be buried on Saturday, but the family wanted to wait for Juan. Y Juan, mi padre, nunca fue. Pinche bastardo.

previous - next