Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Amor Apache

30 December 2018 - 20:16

I am rebonding with my rooster. I feel so bad that the poor guy is sick, but a part of me likes the fact that I can hold him quietly in my lap without him trying to peck my eyes out. Churchis is at least part American gamefowl, which means he has quite the aggressive streak. He has refused any cuddly advances on my part, or even attempts at being picked up, for almost a year, now. My Mom's afraid of him, and I now keep him fenced into his own area of the yard. He's gotten my legs and arms a few times (his spurs are sharp, and seem to still be growing, how the hell is that even possible?!), but I don't hold it against him. It's his nature, and I love him very much despite it. Maybe even because of it. I've always wanted a rooster for a pet, ever since I was a kid, and everything that comes with it. When I got Churchis, I wasn't aware he was a male, and was actually kinda hoping he was a hen, because I live in the city limits, and farm animals aren't allowed. I was worried that my neighbors would call Animal Control and have him taken away once he started crowing. Fortunately, his crow is hoarse, and no one has complained so far.

I've read people on chicken forums suggest that ornery roosters should be culled, but I don't agree with it, nor could I bring myself to do it. I hope Churchis makes a full recovery, but in the meantime, I'm going to enjoy the opportunity to once again hold him quietly in my lap.

previous - next