Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

breakfast at Martha's

16 January 2007 - 09:47

I barely got back from dropping off Angel at daycare. *sigh* That was fun.

I always seem to take longer than usual when Laura is there. See, Angel stays at a daycare called "Mundo de Juguete" or "Toy World". It's owned by a lady named Martha, who my family has known since I was nine. Back when we used to live in the projects, she was our neighbor. Well, she lived down the street, but our families have always had a really good relationship. Martha's always worked at daycares, and she's great with kids, so when her family eventually moved out of the projects not long after we did, she got her own house and of course turned part of it into a daycare of her own, which has always been her dream. Her two eldest daughters, Laura and Priscilla, help out, since they're both out of high school. Laura is my age; Priscilla about two or three years younger. I took so long now because they invited me for breakfast, and although at first I refused (napping is an important part of my routine, don't wanna miss out on that!), I eventually gave in and sat down to some buttery scrambled eggs, hash browns, fried bologna and toast with cheese, all washed down with a glass of cool water. Mmmm!

I talked to Laura while we both ate, but mostly I listened to all her crazy stories about the kids at the daycare and her crazy partying nights in San Antonio. We talked about the fuckin' cold ass weather (we're in the thirties today, which is freezing, considering the region I live in) and my job at the warehouse. I told her how my knee's been bothering me now more than ever 'cause of the cold, and she made me laugh by telling me a story of how she was once with a guy who had messed up knees. Once, she said, his knee locked right in the midst of them messing around, and she was frantically trying to get him out of her room before someone came in and caught him there in his boxers. She's too fuckin' crazy, but I like her. Sometimes I feel it's a pity we didn't hang out more when we were growing up. Her mother always wanted me around her, saying I'd be a good influence (not to mention I would probably help scare off potential boyfriend candidates - I always ended up scaring away all my girl friend's guys), but even though we've always clicked, we never really allowed ourselves to bond as real friends. I think I'm to serious for her, and she too crazy for me. Oh well. At least we can always sit down and have good breakfasts together. After all these years, we're almost like family now. And I wouldn't have things any other way.

previous - next