Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

all that comes to heart is black

18 July 2010 - 16:24

The crap going on right now in Mexico is horrid. I purposefully avoid the news nowadays. Because if not, I'll panic, thinking of my family, and me not being able to reach out and help them.

Alas, I can't escape the world around me. Jorge sent me an email to work on Friday. Car bomb in Nuevo Laredo. 4 killed, 11 wounded. Everyone in my family, mother's and father's side, live in Nvo. Laredo. As kids, my family would spend the summers there, at my grandma's house. Laredo is my second home; part of my heart is there. And now the violence there due to the Drug Wars is rising just as fast as the flood waters along the Rio Grande. I don't have the words to describe my sorrow and despair. I live a mere 3 hours from the city, but this damn border keeps me from reaching out to those I love. I can't bring them here where they'll be safe. And shit, who'm I kidding? I don't even know how long this place will be safe. Just a few miles from here, next town over, one of my favourite bar-n-grills is completely under water. You can only see the roof! All along the RGV, towns are evacuating, or preparing to, in case the river keeps rising. And more rain is supposed to come in this week after Wednesday, so they say.

See why I stay away from the news media?

Anyway, I need to quit dwelling on all the god-awful crap going on around here. I must try. I must... try. Still, I'm gonna ask 'Ama to call her sisters later on tonight. Or maybe I'll give one of my father's sisters a call myself. I really hope everyone's doing well. I worry a lot about eveyone, especially my cousin Javi, who's an ambulance driver, and mi T�a Pera, who I'm afraid is vulnerable to assault or extortion because she's got her own small business. Gargh! I need to stop over-thinking these things! That"s what sucks about me when I start venting on this thing. Brain spew, brain spew!

previous - next