Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

saturday blues

20 December 2008 - 16:01

I'm sitting here in the office, getting paid n' doin' JACK SHIT. I hate it. I'd rather not get paid and go home.

Today is what's commonly known at UPS as "Super Saturday." The Saturday before Christmas, basically. It's the only Saturday out of the year when our Customer Counter is open for customers to come pick up their presents before Christmas. Our drivers also do pick-ups for various companies, and we ship them out on their merry little ass way. Every year since I've worked here, I've worked on Super Saturday. But this year, I guess in large part due to the floundering economy, there's no work to process. No customers at the Customer Counter, nothing to really keep me busy. I already finished up the damn reports. It wouldn't have been so bad, really, but again, two things were different:

One, as I stated, is the lower volume count because of the economy. Alright, we got that. The second reason is that for the first time, I believe, I'm actually here with someone else. Originally I was told by LaDonna David, our International Coordinator, and Juan Boone, the full-time night supervisor (both of my bosses, in a nutshell), if I could come in on Saturday because we needed a "fully-stocked" International department for whatever shipments were to go out. I'm always in for the overtime, so of course I said sure. Then Ruben, my direct International supervisor, told me it was just gonna be me, because they of course only need one person to run International on a light day. Then the end of the night comes along, and I'm ready to go home, and Aaron goes crying to Boone, the little bitch. He wants to work too, and no fair it's only me that gets to work and milk-and-cookies wah-wah-wah.

Okay, so the kid's not that bad, but it's still annoying having to work with someone when I'm so used to working alone. But at least Aaron keeps to himself. We, of course, got the work done in half the time, and then he gets to go home. I finish up my reports and am about to head out, but Benny, the Saturday supervisor, tells me there's still volume to be picked up, and there's confirmation that there's intnernational volume in there, so I have to stay. And while I wait, I don't have a damn thing to do. Nothing's more annoying than being at work with nothing to do.

previous - next