Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

capilla

12 May 2004 - 21:53

There is the possibility that I might get a job as a Collection Agent. I don't wanna get my hopes up, though Dud's rooting for me. I promised her that I'd pay her what I owe her if I get this job, but that's not what worries me. I have to pay her anyway. What worries me is what I said later. She said over the phone: "If you get this job, could you go to church and--"

"Fuck goin' to church! If I get this job I'll build my own fuckin' chapel here at home--"

"No, you don't have to. I was gonna ask you to go to San Juan and light a candle for me."

"Oh. Oh, sure thing, Dud."

Me and my big mouth. But a promise is a promise. The words slipped out my mouth before I could stop them and I swore I would build a chapel in my home if I got this job. I don't need to say "I give my word" to give it; mom raised us better than that. So it's kinda like I promised God I'd build a chapel. And maybe I shouldn't be so uneasy about it. Who knows? Maybe that's what the damn place needs. Even if I don't get the job, maybe I will put one up anyway. Maybe. I'm not making any promises on that one.

previous - next