Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

damp and dangerous

03 July 2007 - 16:26

I'm updating at work again, a dangerous task. Not only because it could get me fired, but today, it could also get me fried. There's a severe weather warning in my area, and there's thunder rumbling outside, and cracks of lightning. In this rickety shack of a warehouse I happen to work in, let me just say it's not very safe. Already the concrete floor of M-3 is flooding at an alarming rate. I placed a couple of wooden pallets on the floor to make a sort of bridge, but it won't be long before those are rendered useless by the wear and tear of walking feet. And did I mention that my computer station just so happens to be located next to one of those roll-up trailer doors? Even when it's closed, the water manages to get in. My computer keyboard was soaked when I got here, and I had to dab at it repeatedly with several brown paper napkins before I deemed it safe to touch. Aaannd the computer was on this whole time, might I add. Then again, I wouldn't even trust my work area even if there were no electronics within it: it's made completely of metal, with wooden floors that soak up water and get really slippery really fast. That dude from Man vs. Wild should try surviving here for a day, see if he doesn't end up hospitalized.

Supposedly there's a hurricane headed this way, but I'm not giving it too much thought. I would've heard about it in the news by now, I think. However, I just checked Yahoo! and it states that the weather's not gonna clear up until Saturday, at least. What a crock a shit. We'll be swimming along with the packages by then. Guess there'll be no fireworks tomorrow. Meh.

Well, rain or shine, UPS has gotta run! There's packages to deliver, deadlines to meet, after all. So off I go to work.

previous - next