Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

fleeting Fonzie

27 May 2010 - 17:07

I've been eavesdropping. On the girls in the office. I know I shouldn't be, but I've already looked through all my work emails and online comics and I have a few minutes to kill before start time.

Brenda and Irene were talking in shushed voices (not shushed enough) about Fonzie. He's been working graveyard shift. He corrects the PAL labels. Well, apparantly he's been a no-call, no-show for a while. Damn shame, really. Irene is very peeved. She's the one that got him this job, and now she feels that it reflects badly on her word. And I know how that feels, because I've had that shit pulled on me. Namely, that time with Talegas ditching the security job I'd gotten him here with Aldo's company, when he didn't even have the courtesy to let Aldo know he was leaving for Ft. Bliss. But I digress; I'm not gonna make this about me.

Poor Irene.

I feel kinda bad, and I don't know if I should tell them anything about what Fonzie told me few weeks back. See, he came in earlier than his usual start time. He and I share the same office when he comes in to work. So he shut the door and told me in secret that after that week, he had a vacation week... and that then he just wasn't gonna show up to work anymore. I advised against it, told him to give management a 2 week notice, in the least, but he brushed my comments off. Said he didn't care if his work record looked bad, because he already has another job (coach at an elementary school). Said he couldn't hack the stress of working two full-time jobs and going to school. I have a feeling nothing good will come of this. But I'm keeping my ears perked up. His position might open up for grabs. If that's the case, I just might take it. It's at a relatively late hour, plus I'd get upgraded to supervisor pay. Not to mention I'd work full-time. Ah, well. We shall see what we shall see.

previous - next