Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

they say the truth shall set you free...

27 April 2006 - 12:30

My heart is beating rapidly, thump-thumping in my chest. Up against my ribcage, it pulses. Hard. And I ain't even taken the damn stacker yet.

Tonight, all this shit goes down. Everything. This will be the day that lives in infamy, where I will stand up against the crowd and point... at those responsible for making my work experience lately a living hell. Yes, ladies and gentlemen. Tonight, I will be one of the lowest forms of sniveling life. I will be... a Snitch.

God, I hate that things have come to this. Hate it that there's no other way. But it's too late. It's now or never, and I can't live with myself if I don't fix this now, try to fix this now...

So Mar�a calls me last night at work, Denise and Aaron fondling each other in the background, as usual. "Hey!" she squeals (Mar�a, not that Denise bitch), "Guess who just called me?!"

A pause as I struggle to think of all the possibilities over the nasal giggles of Denise. "Erm... Yvette?"

It was a lame choice, I knew, but really, with all that noise in the background... it was hard to think.

Mar�a scoffed on the other end, but it was a soft scoff. I know she misses Olga. Her voice was instantly bubbly again, though. "No..." Then she couldn't hold it in any longer I guess. "Joe! Joe Garza from UPS! He called me! I have an interview tomorrow at eight!" I could practically see her jumping up and down. I grinned despite myself. "Hey, that's great, baby!" I exclaimed, a little louder than I'd thought. A slight pause in the sounds of the backdrop. Mar�a kept with her story, I congratulated her, yadda, yadda, yadda. I kept my voice down this time, for I couldn't help feeling like I was being watched. I wouldn't doubt it, since Aaron and Denise know I hardly ever receive personal phone calls at work.

This morning I drove Mar�a to her interview with Joe. We ran into Ivan (a.k.a. "The High-Value Guy"), who I assumed was there filling in for the preload High-Value clerk (there's only two of them, so when the morning dude, Fernando, can't make it, poor Ivan gets dragged in). Turns out he was there for an early interview too. I introduced him to Mar�a and they shook hands. Mar�a agreed with me later on that Ivan does indeed look like a gringo. But that's another story.

I saw Joe there myself. We shook hands, he asked me how things were going. After exchanging pleasantries, he raised his eyebrows at me and asked, "You guys are short on FDC, aren't you?" He glanced at Mar�a, and inwardly (and a bit outwardly too, I think) I winced. "Well..." I hesitated. "Ruben says we can handle it fine on our own as we are," I said, then added hastily, before I could change my mind, "but we are all going over-time right now."

Joe nodded. "Yeah," he said a bit thoughtfully. "That's what Stan was telling me." (Stan! *gasp!* The big fat blonde asshole that runs the warehouse! Shit! I knew that bastard had his eye on our team!) Joe looked back with a beaming smile (that guy drinks too much coffee, I swear) at Mar�a. "That's why she's here."

Mar�a's eyes went round. My mouth went a little dry. Oh-ho... sheeyet.

Today at four we have an Employee Relations meeting with the supervisors. That's where I get to tell everyone what's really been bugging the shit outta me about my so-called "team". More specifically, Aaron and Denise. Those two don't do shit all day except grope each other. Which, if I were in it for the money alone, would suit me just fine, for the more work I do, the more over-time I get. But that's not what I'm here about. I mean, I love Mar�a to death and all, and nothing would make me happier than working with her (well, maybe working with Zamira again would be best... *sigh*), but if she gets placed in the FDC team, with me in International, I mean, that means Ruben's gonna have no choice but to cut down our hours to under five. And there's no work for us right now! We don't really need this shit. There'll be too many Mexicans, and not enough boxes. The only reason, and I mean only reason, we've all been going over our five, is because Aaron and Denise wait until the last minute to start processing everything. So by the end of the night, not only do they go over their five, but they actually look like they've got reason to do it. Which is bullshit. Honestly, I want them both out, out, out!

Yup.

Tonight, this whole shit goes down.

previous - next