Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

gah!

22 October 2005 - 04:32

I'm not much in the mood for updating, and it's really not the time to do so now. Still, for the record, I thought I should make note that the kid has been born. And he looks like me! Dud called and told me; she seemed bemused by it, saying the new quivering bundle of screaming, wailing life has my Oriental-like eyes and straight black hair. I heard the brat howling over the phone while I talked to Dud; he seemed determined to drown his mother out. Some lungs that kid's got, I'm tellin' ya. Dud says he's a slightly darker version of me. His skin is more to her cinammon tone than my yellowish tan. And he's got his father's feet, Dud noted with disgust. [Dud hates feet.]

Of course, since other than his toes the kid doesn't look like his Daddy, his family is now suspicious if it's even his. "Of course he's not," I told my sister sarcastically. "Tell those dipshits that when you were home in January you fucked me and that's why the kid looks like me. All in the family." Idiots, man. It reminded me of the story my mom used to tell us about when my sister was born. Dud was born with pink skin and bright blue eyes, clear as the sky. My dad's aunt claimed the baby couldn't possibly be his, since she looked nothing like him. She ignored the fact, of course, that my mother's father was a second-generation Spaniard in Mexico with silver-white hair and blue eyes.

I'm not exactly sure how I feel about this newfound revelation about Angel's looks. I mean, it freaks the fuck outta me, for one thing. Then on the other hand, it makes me kinda proud. And then I'm in denial. I haven't seen the kid myself, after all. I won't believe it 'til I see it.

But everyone and their mother seems to believe the kid looks like me! Even my sister's neighbor, who's never in her life met me (but has seen pictures of me), did a double-take upon seeing the baby and exclaimed that Alejandro was identical to me! It tingles me, I tell you. Alexis admitted it too, said Dud, and he seems to take it in grudgingly. He hopes the straight spikey blackness of Angel's hair will weave a little, and that his eyes will eventually widen. It's natural for him to feel that way, I guess. I mean, I wouldn't want my son looking like someone I didn't like. Alexis and I don't get along very well, and this is his firstborn. In all fairness, I shouldn't say we don't get along. We don't even know each other. But let me just say he didn't make a good impression upon me when we met way back when I dropped Dud off in Virginia. He knows I think he acted like a complete ass, and he also knows very well (from our brief encounter and stories my sister has told him) that I can be much more of an asshole if he pushes me. I don't forgive easily, and I definately never forget. I can be completely impossible to reason with when I want to. And for now, I've decided to try and let things go, for my sister's sake and the new baby's... but to be honest, I still don't trust Alexis all too well, no matter how much my mother gushes over him. I have never spoken to him since that one time we met, nor am I in any hurry to converse with him again. I will, of course, eventually. When we meet in person. Until then, I'll keep talking to my sister over the phone, and 'Ama can chat with Alexis if she wishes to. I said I'm trying to let things go, not that I have, or will. On Alexis's behalf, I'd like to say that he did admit he was an ass at the time, he did apologize, and he has stuck up for Dud. So I'll be a little less demanding of him when we meet in December. They're coming down for the holidays, s� Dios quiere.

I'll bear my cross of silence until that time.

And now, it is nearing five o'clock, and I must sleep now so I can wake later and go cash my check. With my luck, 'Ama will be pounding down my closet door in about three hours. For I sleep in my closet, didn't you know? How wonderfully conversationaful. I'm so sleepy that I'm conversing with myself again. Gah.

previous - next