Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

high winds

21 September 2005 - 23:10

I was chillin' in the back office at work with Ruben and Aaron, and we talked about the hurricane that's headed here.

"Think we'll get any of it?" I asked.
"Oh, we're definately getting hit." (Ruben)
"Good, that's what Aaron wants. Ain't that right, Aaron?"
Aaron walked over and stuck his head in the office.
Aaron: "What was that?"
Ruben: "What? You want the hurricane to hit here, bro?"
Aaron: "Hell yeah! No work, no school!" (That last part was Aaron and me together.)

We're gonna feel like such dumbasses when it really does hit us, and we all drown and shit. Still, it's funny now.

Another thing we talked about, while on the subject of the hurricane (damn, I haven't even bothered to find out its name!), we were discussing gas prices. Ruben checked the Weather Channel online page and found out that gas prices are predicted to go up to five bucks a gallon once this bitch hits Texas. And no duh! I mean, all the fuckin' oil refineries are right here! We saw this picture online of all the refinaries in Texas, and most of them are along the coast between Houston and Galveston.

That's when I remembered that I have family in Houston! I hope they'll be okay. Even though they're all a bunch of bitches and my uncle's a total asshole. *shruggs* 'Ama will probably give 'em a call sometime this week to make sure. My guess is they'll all run off to Mexico.

"Did you know Corpus Christi was evacuated already?" Ruben asked me.
"No shit - really?" (I didn't mean to sound sarcastic; I really didn't know.) Aaron laughed. "But no, seriously?"
"Yeah." And he checked the Weather Channel again. Turns out they haven't evacuated yet, but they will at 6AM tomorrow morning. Gas prices will be up by 15 or 20 cents by tomorrow also. Ruben and I decided to fuel up before then. Aaron said he couldn't, because he had no money in his account. Spent it all on gambling and booze, no doubt.

Hm, in fact, I need to go do that now. (Fuel up, I mean. Although, poker and booze sound real good right about now.)

previous - next