Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

unenthusiastic

08 September 2018 - 14:25

I decided to attend a political rally type event for Beto O'Rourke. It's more of a volunteer training, really. Beto himself will not attend. Already, I'm annoyed. I was listening in to a conversation between some of the people who are attending, and I coughed a bit. The lady a few seats down from me immediately turned to me and asked, "Are you sick?" I nodded, but I guess she didn't notice, because she insisted, "I mean, are you sick with a cold? Is it a cold, or just allergies?"
"It's a cold," I replied.
She grabbed her purse and moved even further away down the row, stating loudly, "I will move. I get deathly sick easily. It's because I've gotten cancer twice."

I'm not sure why, but she really rubbed me the wrong way. Just now, she got up to talk in front of the crowd, and it's very obvious she's used to doing so.

The actual campaign manager seems a bit less experienced in public speaking than this lady I'm referring to. Every other sentence she ends with a nervous giggle.

It doesn't help matters that I'm sick. As hard as I try, I keep coughing while the presentation is going on. I feel awkward and unwanted here, like I should have stayed home and napped, maybe. And now, I am feeling so drowsy...

15:14 I wonder if my drowsiness is in some way related to the cold medication I took earlier. I'm really starting to feel woozy now. Seriously, I'm sleepy. I need a nap. I may just walk on out. It's too bad... I really like Beto O'Rourke. I wanted to be able to help him out. Guess it's just not in my cards.

*sigh*

previous - next