Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

The politics of the job

19 November 2008 - 20:46

My head is pounding. I am so fuckin' frusterated. And yes, I am at work, but FUCK THAT. Yes, fuck that. I don't care if I'm caught on the computer, I'm not gonna log off this crap until I'm done ranting. It's this job that drives me up the friggin' wall in the first place.

I. Hate. People.

Why? People are so ungrateful, so cynical, it's like pushing against the tide, trying to keep it from coming in with your bare hands. And why do we keep going at it? Why should I care so much? Because they're my coworkers, and I signed up for this position, I signed up to care. I agreed to the Safety Committee co-chair spot. I am responsible for the Local Sort. And it's my job to care, my job to try. Yes, even if I hate people. But it... exhausts me. Week after week, people at my job never fail to drain me. Morally and... I dunno. Me desinflan. All my enthusiasm and goodwill toward mankind shrivels up inside me everytime they look at me like I'm supposed to go out of my way for their every whim, like I have to cater to them and spoonfeed them, give them crap. Hey, who cares what information I'm trying to relay to you about keeping safe in the workplace, where's my food? Where are my goodies, the t-shirts, the keychains, the Gatorades every Friday, the prizes? And no, I won't learn your stupid regulations on how to keep safe. No, I don't give a crap about taking care of myself outside of work, just give me that. I know not what else to do. My spirit has been bled dry. And now I have to color. I wanna take those Wellness Bags and shove them up each and every individual's ass. With the help of some very sharp and pointy tool.

I very much want to punch my fist through this computer monitor right now. But the economy sucks, and I need to keep my job. It's now that I understand why Alb�n left the job. I remember asking him once, so long ago... years ago, it was, almost four years ago... I digress. I asked him, why he hadn't stayed in the Safety Committee back when he co-chaired it. I asked him why he left and why now, with new members, he still refused to go back. And he looked up at me (he was sitting at a desk and I was standing next to him) with the same tired look I see the mirror reflect at times, and he said, "Because... because management doesn't care about the Safety Committee. They just want a bunch of yes-men. And the people don't care much more than that either. They just want free hand-outs and throw out all the rest. No one on either side appreciates what you're trying to do for the well-being of others. No one cares. That's why I got out, in a nutshell. And that's why I won't ever go back."

I miss Alb�n, but I remember thinking back then that he was just being bitter. As far as I figured, if people within the committe changed, became more dedicated and led by example, that people would stop taking us as a joke and would feel more enthusiastic about safety in the workplace themselves. I thought it was obvious that it would be contagious, if only someone got it all started. And I agreed to be that someone. And now, all I seem to be spreading is more greed. No one has shown for one second that they give a damn, even though I've got a committee with at least three good, sound members who genuinly care, and a full-time supervisor who backs me up 100%. It's like the more we give to them to show that we as a committee care, the more they want. They want bigger things, better things. More expensive things. But they're not getting any better at learning the simple regulations they must follow to remain safe in the workplace. They don't follow said safe behavior methods. I'm fuckin' sick of it. Ironic, no? That caring for the people around you will make you, as an individual, feel like shit.

God, I would suck as a politician.

previous - next