Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

meepit fury

24 November 2006 - 12:12

Yesterday evening, in the midst of all the turkey huballoo, I walked into my room for X reason or another, my mother right behind me. As we were about to leave again, she pointed at my hamsters' cage.

"Oye, �que tiene ese colgado all�?" she asked, looking at FatAss as he clambered around the bars of the cage. "�Tiene al otro colgando o que?"

And at first it did seem like he was indeed lugging around a hamster on his breast. A really small hamster with not to much fur. A itty bitty hamster with hardly any fur. And suddenly I realized it was a baby hamster and maybe FatAss wasn't a guy. Maybe he and BlindAss were mates and had babies? I walked over.

Nope, it was no baby. It was a big ball of flesh, like a tumor. I moaned. "Oh, no, poor FatAss!" I may not know much about veterinary medicine, but I know that a tumor on a creature so small is probably inoperable. I remembered Sarian's guina pig. No, not a good prognosis. I peeked inside the cage, looking for BlindAss.

And saw him immediatly. The flash of red was hard to miss. I was shaking in an instant. BlindAss was on his back, spread-eagled as a hamster's allowed to be, his mouth open wide and red all over the side of his face. Blood. Dead, dead, dead as a hamster's allowed to be.

Now, FatAss and BlindAss have never gotten along. They were always fighting, which is why I was given them in the first place. But that FatAss would actually kill BlindAss in a gory fight? The thought had never crossed my mind. I incredulously told my mom, then rushed to the kitchen (with her in my wake) to grab some paper towels with which to scoop out the tiny little carcass.

Of course, upon taking the little guy out of the cage, I saw how extensive the damage had been to him. His mouth hadn't been open and his face splattered with red after all - the whole left side of his face was gone! Knawed through entirely: fur, skin, muscle, tendon and bone. He didn't even have any brains left, for crying out loud. But them where were they? I still haven't summoned up the courage as of yet to clean out the cage. FatAss munches happily away on his mix of seeds and vitamin pellets, and I wonder if that was the way he happily munched away on his cagemate's head. Mmmm... yummy brains! *gack* In tacos, cow brains are delicious, but I've never tried them raw. Has FatAss become a zombie? And what if he's got rabies or something?

I won't deny the fact that I cried, but more out of fear than anything else. Never had I experienced such cruelty in creatures other than humans, and it fuckin' scared the living shit outta me! Because in all honesty here, my little blind buddy there had a gruesome death. He had no other wounds to his body, which means he had to be alive when this other fucker began eating his face. Hamsters aren't carnivorous, and I doubt very much that hamster brains taste like seeds or vitamin pellets. So that was deliberate cruelty, wasn't it? I mean, what type of instinct would tell you to cannibalistically eat another's face? And they were always fighting over everything - they hated each other. I just feel so bummed and so stupid that I didn't realize the danger sooner. I should have kept them in seperate cages. Or something.

*sigh*

I don't know what to do with FatAss now. My only comfort is that at least BlindAss didn't go down without a fight. Hence the bulbous fleshy formation on FatAss's chest. I hear him nibbling on his food now, and part of me shudders. Creepy thing. I'll never get him a cagemate again.

previous - next