Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

new year, same ol'...

04 January 2010 - 16:26

Just because you eat tortillas, doesn't make you Mexican.

Shit, just 'cause I like pizza, doesn't make me Italian.

So, I'm back in the shithole. Yeah, work. I actually got here at this hour because there had been a paper by the punch-in clock that said the Sort started at 16:30 Hrs. Eli just walked in a bit ago and asked me why I was here so early. I told him about the paper, and oh, he said, it doesn't pertain to me. 'Cause I stay later. Fuck. Part a me wants to go back home and nap for five minutes, then waste the gas to come back here. No, I don't wanna nap in the car. I won't wake up.

Gah, it sucks updating this shit in a busy office. People keep walking in on me while I'm typing, chatting it up. People, I'm tired, 'k? Yeah, yeah, happy new year and shit, go away.

The holidays are a shitty time to try and get car parts from anywhere. Everything is slow, and no one wants to be working for those two, three days in between partying, so the customer service is pretty much non-existant. Even now, things are sluggish, and barely picking up steam for the long run of a whole new year.

Long story short, I was barely able to get the friggin' IAT sensor/connector combo this morning. Car's been up on jack stands for what? A week and a half? I wanted to get it fixed by the Dud's birthday, so yeah, maybe it's been longer than that. Oh, and still missing the hose seal thingamawhatsit. But that can wait. I can seal the torn seal with black electric tape for now, at least just so I can move the damn car out of the driveway. Oh, and I had to get the connector from the dealership, 'cause junkyards around here apparantly don't deal with cars older than 10 years old anymore. Sonofabitch.

The first day of the year, I threw up. A lot. No, not hangovers. Don't drink in front of the kids, but I was feelin' sick. Couldn't even hold down water. Sometime during my delirium, my glasses broke. Fucktastic. Good thing I had one last set of contacts. Oh, eternal joy. (Taste the sarcasm.) So now, my eyes are all dry-like and FUCKED UP because I'm not used to these things. I'm sure they look all blood-shot, too. And I gotta get new glasses. God, I hate shopping. For anything. And you know how the eye doctor won't give you a prescription unless you're all up-to-date on your eye exams, and so there they stick it to you and make you shit out another hundred bucks at least, and that's 'cause you haven't even paid for the glasses. I might just go to one of those places where the exam is free if you buy two pairs or something. Fuckfuckfuck. I hate shopping.

And while on that subject, the Dud's birthday present hasn't arrived in the mail yet and I'm getting pretty damn peeved. I know mail is slow too, because of the holidays, but... well fuck! Things are just not going good for me right now. Maybe it's because I'm crabby that I gotta work. With a wrist brace. 'Cause oh, yeah, I'm sporting one of those bitches on my left arm now. Damn shit's been bugging me for almost a month, and I had to do something before my wrist just snapped. This thing is damn uncomfortable, but at least I'm no longer in pain. I have pain killers in my lunchbox today. Don't wanna take them because they'll make me sleepy. Yes, Aleve makes me sleepy. Most medication does, actually. And I'm aready sleepy as it is. Could be the weather, but more likely it's my lazy ass. Slept late again last night (this morning, more like). Then I had to wake up early to go get the damn car parts. The Dud's been fussy. Probably because she's so close to popping the kid. All during the New Year's celebrations, she was getting some pretty heavy-duty contractions, and frequently, too. About every two to three hours. For a moment, we all thought the kid was gonna get here before my birthday even (she's due on Valentine's Day, my favorite holiday - god, don't I just make sarcasm look good?), but no, they've gone away after about two days. Turns out she was dehydrated or something. Thing is, she doesn't wanna drink too much water because she gets swollen. Sheesh. That's why people should use birth-control.

So the Dud's been bitchy because of that, and plus the usual problems with Talegas. Yeah, her baby daddy. (She says she doesn't consider him her husband anymore, but the term "ex" denotes that he's still a part of her life. Erm, I think "baby daddy" ain't much better, but meh, it's her term, not mine.) Fuckin' ass. He's such a child, I swear. Still resorts to screaming in the phone, throwing a tantrum, and then hanging up. What a joke. Oh, and then he texts back "O I am sorry I hung up on U. I am stressd. :(" (Okay, so I don't know if that's how he texts, but I'm sure I'm making him seem a lot more literate than he actually is.)

Wow, this little rant seems to have helped perk me up. Not a lot, grant you, but a bit. It's five o'clock. Gotta go hit the... erm, boxes.

previous - next