Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

peanut butter & tuna

20 January 2014 - 09:12

I was diagnosed with Type-II Diabetes almost exactly one year ago. For a year, I've struggled to maintain a healthy blood-glucose level. Oftentimes, I forget to try, or rather, I choose to forget. I would rely way too much on my medication instead of having self-discipline and controlling my diet. This year, my sister and I started walking during her lunch break on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. She's dieting. I'm following My New Diabetic Mealplan For The Rest Of My Life.

That's what it really boils down to, really: lifestyle changes. Not temporary diets, not excercising only until I get to my desired weight. I need to live healthy. From now on. Forever and ever until I die.

Let me tell you, it's no fun.

I think that's why my mom doesn't really do it. She thinks she controls her sugar, but in reality, she doesn't. If she was, why is she on three different diabetic medications? (I'm on Metformin only.) I worry about her. I worry about me. This morning, my glucometer said my blood-sugar level was at 91. So I'm off to a good start this morning. To keep myself at that level, my breakfast consisted of two teaspoons (heaping, okay) of organic peanut butter and an assload of water. Yum. Lunch'll probably be a sandwich on multigrain bread with some plain yogurt or tapioca pudding. With Metformin and some walking, of course.

AAARGHFKLE!!!! NO. FUN.

EVER.

*sigh* For the rest of my life.

previous - next