Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

sandalo (not sandalia)

01 December 2008 - 13:01

Sandalwood really does smell nice. Slightly woodsy, sweet scent. And it's now all over my leg.

This morning I get up to wash, and I'm washing and separating my darks and colors and whatnot, and jamming out to Drowning Pool and System of a Down, when 'Ama starts hollering from across the house. Of course the volume's too loud and I can't understand what she's saying. (Why do Mexican people do this? Are we the only culture that does so? Somehow I don't think so, but every household I've come across, we always yell across the house to each other instead of going over to tell someone to their face. Funny thing is, we still have to end up going, but not before we've spent about half an hour hollering their name and cursing at the top of our lungs.) So I go over there and see she's dumped a black UPS gym bag on the floor in the middle of the hallway. (Yes, there are UPS gym bags. It's called The UPS Catalog, and probably only CEO's or people who wanna show off that they work there buy that crap. I did't buy the bag. I got it for free. For working there.) She said it had my clothes in it and yak-yak-yak-yak yak. I quickly verify the contents as indeed belonging to me: black pants with silver chains all over and green accents, black t-shirt, navy-blue t-shirt, black velvet trench coat, spike glue, hair spray, deoderant, essential oils (I don't wear body spray/cologne/perfume/whatever), the works. Yes, this is the bag I took to Laredo, with the clothes I wore for my cousin's wedding. I pick up the bag and head to my room, to sort it with the rest of the dirty laundry. And when I get there I notice this grainy, stickly sweet smell, and... I'm wet. My leg... is wet. And the bag is wet. And my leg is getting more wet. As things would happen, one of the little bottles of essential oil shattered. My guess is where 'Ama threw the bag from the dining room into the hall. And of course I tried to make the most of it and let the bottle finish draining off in my mortar where the crushed rose petals can absorb the oil. I hope the resulting incense won't be too gaggingly sweet now.

previous - next