Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

stormy

07 June 2010 - 17:07

It's storming outside. I had started to update this thing and a power surge ruined everything! D: The following is what I was gonna put up (approx.)

One of the first things I did when I got to work was wring out my socks. Before that, I called 'Ama, let her know I made it to work alright.

We've been having some hell of a hot weather recently (when don't we? But it was extra-crispy this time). It got to the point where the Dud bought two small A/C units for the Blue Room where she stays with the kids. Can't blame her really. Point is, it's hot, right? And I've been cycling my fat ass to work lately and was not looking forward to those hot sweaty rides to a hot sweaty warhouse. So I wished for a cold front. What I got instead was a thunderstorm. And since the Dud's car broke down last week, I've been stuck taking my trike to work, rain (very much rain) or shine (when it's hot, it's HOT).

Despite the fact I took a raincoat, I got completely soaked! Water made its way into my jeans, to my boxers, up my crack and in my crotch (squelchy!). My socks got all wet and my workboots were waterlogged. Ever try to bike with waterlogged clothes? No fun. No fun at all for Jack.

So I get to work, trailing puddles and streams of rainwater, and everyone in the office laughs and agrees that I'm a dumbass. Nacho got mad at me and told me to call him next time so he can give me a ride. Connie told me the same thing. My half-hearted feeble protest of "But it was fun...!" did not fly with them. Maybe they could tell I was lying.

But it really wasn't so bad. At least I got to swim the last block to work (almost literally - the UPS warehouse was built on a low field and it floods a lot. When my feet would go down on the peddles, I was treading water. Like a doggie-paddle. So I wasn't peddling, I was paddling! *groan* Lame, lame...), and I won't have to shower for a really long time! (I'm joking. God, it's a joke, dammit!)

Mom was crying over the phone when I called her, though. Worried and all that. I didn't tell her how wet I got (all over), and reassured her that I was fine. And I will be alright. All in a day's work, to me. And now, speaking of work...

previous - next