Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

the funeral

24 March 2007 - 12:06

When I walked in my room just now, it was eerily quiet. It took me a few seconds to realize that this was due to the fact that Draco's tank filter's no longer running. It made me a bit sad, but I shook it off. Draco's in a better place now. Just like Rita's & Aaron's dads.

I just got back a while back from the cemetary. I had been indecisive about going at first, but my alarm rang at six thirty and then at seven, but by then I was up. The Dud walked into my closet not long after with Angel. She explained that Alexis had some soldier training bullshit over at the Island, and that she was thinking of sending him on his own, so she could go with me to the cemetary to see Aaron and then we could drive together to Progresso to be with Rita and her family. She did say it was a maybe, but she made it sound like she was gonna go with me. Turns out she changed her mind (big surprise there, eh?) and decided to go with her husband. But that's okay. At first I was bummed about it because I really wanted her there with me, but I'm a strong believer in that everything happens for a reason, and in the end I was cool with it. I took a shower, struggled into some black formal wear (but with my work boots, 'cause I think that's the only pair of fuckin' shoes I own) and went on my way.

The whole drive to the cemetary, my knees felt like water, and I was miserable. Would Denise be there, I wondered? She had told me on Friday that she was thinking of going, and that she would "probably go, more than likely." She wasn't there when I got there. In fact, I didn't see anyone from work. I didn't see anyone I recognized at all and I began to wonder if I was even at the right place, but then I saw Aaron. He was standing between a tall, dark and handsome young man - no dawg, seriously; that guy could only be described as that, like something out of a novella - and a light skinned girl, also tall, but a bit on the chunky side. Very pretty girl. I knew on instant that these were his siblings. Aaron had told me about them, once, long ago. How his brother used to bring chics home at night to fuck 'em in his room, both of them staggering drunk not giving a shit about disturbing the household. And his little sister, and how their father was very protective of her, always wanting his sons to set a good example for her.

I edged over to the back, keeping my head down, not wanting to attract any attention. Unfortunately, I was one of the only dumbasses garbed completely in black, so there went my great idea of blending in. I don't think the boots helped either.

Denise didn't show up. No one from work ever did; not that I saw anyway. The only person I recognized other than Aaron was Natalie, his girlfriend. She's also working at UPS, but I don't really consider her "part of the work force" as much as "the kid's girl." She's a very sweet and nice girl. I've worked with her in Ground Smalls, and she's alright. She always seems on the verge of telling me something, though, but she never gets around to it. I think it has to do with my relationship with Aaron; at least that's what she's hinted from the tidbits that've burst out of her mouth, but she never finished the thought. So what about my relationship with Aaron she wants to talk to me about is beyond me. Apparantly he doesn't hate me as much as I thought he did. I dunno, it's weird.

But in the end, after much hesitating and inner arguing amongst all my selves, I forced myself to go up to the kid to give my condolences. I met his sister, and she smiled at me. Such a pretty girl; she looks a bit like Aaron somehow, although they're physically nothing alike except for the skin color. It turns out I did have the balls to give the kid a hug after all; in fact, I gave him two. The first one was kinda weak, 'cause I wasn't sure how he'd take it, but the second one came more natural to me. He looked surprisingly grateful that I was there, and he even squeezed my hand a bit. After that I went and hung with Natalie. Did I mention she's a sweet girl? 'Cause she's a sweet girl. I dunno, I hope Aaron ends up with her for good, if he's gotta end up with someone. She'd be good for him, I think. Help him grow up a little.

Shit, I gotta go. 'Ama's calling 'cause she wants me to look after Angel while she takes a shower.

previous - next