Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

breathing through a straw

10 August 2010 - 23:34

"I'm like a ghost, I've been living in a dirt room..." - Blue October

I worry for my family. A lot. *sigh* I hate updating this thing from my cell phone, but the UPS servers started blocking this site. And because of that, I can't vent as often as I once did. But anyway, I digress.

'Ama's blood sugar level was low today. The Dud called me at work to let me know. She panics, because she hasn't really been around 'Ama when she's sick. I told her to let her have a small piece of hard candy and to have her suck on it slowly so she'd feel better. Still, I did my best to get out early (which for me means on time instead of working late) so I could help keep an eye on her. Turns out I don't know who I should be keeping an eye on anymore.

My sister went to pick me up because 'Ama was asleep. On the way home she started telling me how depressed she feels, how Mom is so stubborn when she's sick, how she hates her job, how the kiddos drive her nuts and the mess in the house doesn't help. I know she tells me these things because she needs to vent, but I begin to feel as though she's looking for me to fix things. She tells me that Mom depends on me for too many things, but in a way, she does the same. I only wish I could do more than whisper empty promises. To both of them.

At work, things are only slightly better. Zami's transferring to the UPS branch in Houston, or at least she's trying to. Either way, the AM position's opening up soon, and I want it. I told myself that maybe this way, even though I'd get less hours, I could take advantage and go back to school. I need to go back. Seeing my mother's physical ailments and my sister's mental strain push me in this direction further. Not to mention I've got debt that no part time job, no matter how lucrative it may seem, will help me pay off quickly. So I'm feeling pressured, yeah, but then, what else is new? I do worry, I really do, but at this point I can either crumble in defeat, or square my shoulders and keep truckin'.

The baby got me sick, to boot. That's what I get for letting him sleep on my chest. *chuckle* Cecilia gave me some homeopathic lozenges, so hopefully those'll help. We'll see how things go.

previous - next