Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

french mold--er, toast. I meant *toast*

04 January 2006 - 13:49

I have almost two complete loaves of bread. Moldy bread. Now, normal people would throw that shit away. Nice people might crumble it up and throw it out to the birdies. Me? Hell, I'm making french toast! No one'll be able to tell the difference! *punches the air triumphantly* Yeay for cheap-ass impovising me! I'll make some into french toast, I think, and just toast the rest and eat it with jam. Mmmm...

See, I get these habits from back when I was growing up and was poor as fuck. I'm the type of person that will eat food even if it's starting to smell a bit funky. Just add salt, and cover that taste right up. I've also been known to eat bugs when they happen to pop up in my food. Back in Retama, it was either you ate it like that, or you ate not at all. Which was fine during the school year (I actually developed a certain fondness for cafeteria food... by then, you know you're hungry!), but was torture in the summer. So I learned to eat what I had to work with. And now, even though I've got the resources to eat better, you could say, I still hang on to my old... erm, values. Hm. It's almost two o'clock. I'd better get started on that toast, or it won't be done by the time I gotta go pick up 'Ama from work.

previous - next