Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

tuesday

24 February 2009 - 17:18

Holy crap! Am I 25? God!

Seriously, it just hit me right now. I was gonna write about something completely different. Probably more worrying about Knightmare. He was better after the blood transfusion Thursday, and he's gaining weight, but already I think his iron level's down again - he was trying to eat dirt today, and he seemed clumsier than usual. (He's one fuckin' clumsy-ass dog.)

Then for some reason I realized it's 2009. That means I'm 25 already. Shit! And all this time, I thought I was 24. Well, I'm sure I knew my age on my birthday, but then I kinda stored it out to the back of my mind. I think I was thinking about age and stuff because I just read Ghost's post about almost being 34. Happy Birthday, Ghost! (Yeah, I know it's not gonna be your birthday for a while yet, but this way I was the first to tell ya', mua-ha-ha!)

In all seriousness, though, I was gonna start my work day really crappy n' stuff. I'm worried about my damn mutt, and people at work peeve the shit outta me when I'm worried about stuff for some reason. But then I read Ghost's entry and it made me feel better. A lot better. The Internet is a strage and fascinating place. It connects people who a generation ago would never have run across each other. And yeah, it's easy to lie online, and of course you only say about yourself what you want known about you (like me, I never reveal my gender online), but the true essence of a person, what makes you you, cannot be hidden. Quirks, peeves, frusterations, a corny sense of humor... you can't hide those things, or cover them up. No matter how hard you try, they always seep through. And that's the most important thing you need anyway, to bond with someone. It makes it so much easier to get past that awkward phase in the beginning where you're trying to break the ice. You can jump right into a serious discussion with someone you've never even heard of before, whose voice pitch and tone you don't even know, or face or even their name. Just today, right before work, I was having a discussion with some person by the alias "userlink" (followed by some random number that I'm sure meant something to them) about religion and whether it's a good or a bad thing. More people online know I have multiple personalities than even my own family! It's sorta twisted, but amazing.

It's not so much that people reveal online only what they want others to know. It's that we reveal that part of ourselves we're afraid that people in our day-to-day lives would reject.

Not that I'm afraid or anything, I'm just sayin'. *smirk*

previous - next