Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

despite the waning moon

15 December 2007 - 22:24

I went to work today, which is unusual for me. Then they told us we work next Saturday also, but when I got home, the Dud reminded me that this Saturday we have our Christmas Roadtrip up to El Paso. So I'll have to tell Ruben I won't work.

This has been a week of spending. I'm afraid to look at my bank account. These past few days have been filled with copious bills, new dogs, boogers (Angel's sick), early mornings, and vet visits. All which lead to a hole in my pocket from which all my money flows. Well, shit. I was emailed a quote a while back and it's what's been running through my mind all week, like a whispered motto: "I am thankful for all my high bills because it means I live comfortably." Well, the dogs are, anyway.

The "good times" and high pay at UPS are coming to an end along with the year. 2007 was for hoarding and waiting. Working hard and not spending a fuckin' thing. Now I see why.

We lost our Jabil account.

Jabil Manufacturing is the main producer behind the X-Box 360 Console. There's a repair center just across the border in Mexico where all the recalled or malfunctioning X-boxes are sent by unhappy game-players to be repaired. They ship their merchandise through UPS. Well, until now.

We've been fucking up at the warehouse, big time. I have the strangest feeling that Stan knew we were gonna lose this one, becuase he was anxious as all shit to get the fuck outta here. He's transfered somewhere up north, and Ray Ribelin has taken his place as Center Manager. Nice guy, that Ray. Strict, but it's what we've been needing in this warehouse for years. But alas, he arrived too late. After the company spent up above 300 thousand dollars to renovate the warehouse, we lose our biggest account. Of the 30,000 pieces our warehouse processes every day, at least 20,000 come from Jabil. They've cut our volume in half, just until Peak Season ends, and come January, they're transfering all their shipping needs to FedEx. What does that mean for me, the common worker?

Well, among other things, people with lower seniority are gonna start getting laid-off. Our hours are gonna get cut down. Probably to four, maybe even barely three and a half a day. Which, need I say, ain't shit. And no, that's not against the law, I am a part time employee. UPS policy only guarantees three and a half hours. Anything over five gets paid overtime. And let's just say I've been doing overtime for so long... I don't even know what a 25-hour paycheck would look like. Not too pretty, I bet. I might just need to get myself another job. On the bright side, though, I might be able to go back to school. I must always look at the positive side of things. Main reason why I've been splurging so much on new work clothes and rock concerts and pampering the pets all this week... I know the good times are about to end, and money's gonna be tight, at least on my end. 'Cause I'm fuckin' damned if I ever ask my mother for money. Or Pifas, especially now in the state he's in. I think the Dud knows too, 'cause for once, she didn't bitch about me going in to work on one of my days of rest. She knows how much money I've invested in the past two weeks on everyone, and how my prosperous times are soon to end. This is my Mardi Gras.

previous - next