Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

We Jurors Six

05 March 2007 - 17:06

Today was the last day of jury duty, but instead of feeling down, as I thought I would, I'm feeling inexplicably happy. I have six new friends, all very cool people from all over the valley. They are Jurors #1, and #3-6. In the real world, they are go by the names Norma, Abel, Trudy, Mando and David. All different ages, from different walks of life. We swapped info before heading our own separate ways. It made me feel so good inside to see they were all as eager to get my contact info as I was to get theirs. We all agreed that an afternoon out for icecream sounded scrumptiously wonderful.

I felt really comfortable around these people when we went out today during lunch. Judge treated us to a fancy restaurant, so since it was on the house, we of course, being poor Mexicans, took full advantage of the offer and pigged out like we had money to throw. Mando sat across from me and David was at my side. We all had so much fun, talking about food and... more food. Hell, that's what Mexicans always talk about at the table, in case folk out there didn't know. The more we have to eat in front of us, the more we yakk about other dishes we've tried at various points in our lives, mostly other Mexican dishes, and how delicious it all is. After a while, I stopped caring how I was dressed or if I was overweight (which of course I am) and my gut was sticking out, straining against the material of my t-shirt (which of course it was). All that mattered was that we were all there hangin' out, having a good time. Like Abel said before departing: "We've become like a family. But let's be one of those cool families, guys, let's not fight."

The vote to agree was unanimous.

previous - next