Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

TMNT! TMNT! TMNT! TMNT!

2003-02-10 - 8:00 p.m.

I am in a fairly good mood. It feels strange to be so. Oh, jeez... I am very confused...

On the bright side, a part of me is estatically happy. The reason? Today I got to watch cartoons like a kid. The all-new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles cartoon started this Saturday at 10:30 AM on the Fox Box!!! YEAAAYYYYY!!!!!!!!! I was so thrilled! But... I don't have cable, and down here in the middle of forgotten nowhere, one must have cable TV in order to watch Fox. Oh, the anguish I underwent! Fortunately for me, I have connections... my sister's boyfriend. He's all right, I guess. Puts up with me, so I put up with him. Not too bad of an arrangement. Over the two (almost three) years that he's been with my sis, our relationship has developed from one of hostility (from my end, of course) to one of amiability and (rarely) comradeship. So right now I am pretty close to actually feeling a bit fond of him for doing me this great favor. He recorded the episode for me at his dad's house and then brought it over today. Needless to say, I was bouncing all over my closet walls. I even ventured forth to the dining room and STAYED THERE (wow!) for over 15 minutes. See, the TV's in there. Weird place for a television set, I know. But I sat there happily and watched the precious episode! Happy-happy, joy-joy!!

And I must say: IT WAS AWESOME!!!!! Definatelly the next best thing to the original comic books! They even used actual quotes from the first comic book! I got chills when I heard the first few words uttered: "I am Leonardo." EXACTLY the same as the black and white comic by Mr. Eastman and Mr. Laird. Of course, they toned it down for the kiddos out there, but it's understandable. Kids would freak if they got but a glimpse of the blood and guts of the actual Mirage comic fighting. And it was a definate improvement over the old cartoon where the Shredder has clumsy mutant side-kicks and robots that are easily scrapped. Not that I have anything against the original cartoon concept. Anything TMNT works for me, but I DO like this cartoon a WHOLE LOT better. I just hope they keep on like this and stay true to the comics. I already checked out the official TMNT website and read how it mostly will be like the comic books, but you never know if those TV people will change their minds and bring out Krang again. Now that would really suck. Again, no offense to the TMNT. Well, I gotta go...

"My name is Leonardo. We must have made a wrong turn somewhere. Now we're caught, our backs up against this trash-strewn alley. Barring the way out are fifteen members of the toughest street gang on the east side. The only way they'll let us out is if we're DEAD!"

Aw, fuck it! It goes something like that...

previous - next