Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

adventures with cars

19 September 2012 - 11:27

A few months back, we had a patch or rough weather. Hailstorms, tornados and such. Power outages galore. Freaked out quite a few folks. We'd never gotten hail before, let alone hailstorms. And our house only has a one-car carport. Hail hated my sister. She got conked on the head with a massive chunk of ice the size of a softball which gave her vertigo, then another smashed her windshield while she was driving (different occasion, of course). So she took the carport to avoid further damage to her car. I pull my Toyota up close behind her car so he wouldn't be completely exposed and wished him luck before heading indoors.

All through that eerie night, through the howling wind and the onslaught of BB-sized ice-bits, my little car held through. And in the morning, our Valley weather kicked into full tropical gear and kicked icicle ass. It was muddy sludge before the sun was even up. So my sister gets her kids ready for school and merrily heads out the door.

And backs up right smack into my snuggling car. Knocks out the front right directional. My poor baby. Then my sister works up the nerve to get mad at me! For parking so close to the house in order to avoid damaging my car? That's why cars have rearview mirrors.

So long story short, I've been needing to get that fixed. Can't pass inspection if I don't get that fixed. And of course the Dud never paid for the busted light, nor will she. She's always broke. And I may be an asshole, but I'm not an idiot. Getting obstinate over 40 bucks will lead to nothing but a family fallout. It would crush 'Ama.

So we have a community service event this Saturday at the island. Adpot-A-Beach. I went last year with 'Ama and �ngel. We had a blast, plus we all got patches we stitched up to our volunteer t-shirts. Now that I got Aneli into the whole UPS Neighbor To Neighbor thing, she wants an Adopt-A-Beach patch, too. But I'm not driving all the way to the beach with an expired inspection. Don't wanna give any state trooper or cop reason to pull me over. I started calling junk yards looking for the part but no one seems to have it. I called the dealership and they said they can order the part for me and have it in by tomorrow. Which would leave me just Friday to get the inspection done (and hope it passes). Thursday should be fun.

previous - next