Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

nostalgia sucks

05 August 2005 - 02:10

So I've got family over at the house. I dunno, it's weird, and... kinda sweet. There's nothing like coming home to the sincere squeezy hug of a hyper five-year-old who's screaming "I MISSED YOU!!!!" in Spanish as he tackles his hug into your gut. My cousin, Gil. He told me yesterday, with a shy and honest look in his brown eyes: "Apenas te estoy conociendo, y ya te quiero." I'm barly getting to know you, and I already love you. You can't help but hug that kid. It got me thinking about Toty's baby, and how in a few years, this scenerio might repeat itself with my yet-to-be-born nephew. Or niece. Or whatever. The fetus, "El Frijolito."

It all makes me somewhat nostalgic. Today after I got home from work, Gil insisted on me playing with him. Leave it to kids to not give a crap about wearyness. "�Quieres jugar a las escondidas?" he demanded. God. I hadn't played hide-and-go-seek in years! It was just him and me, and I found him rather easily of course. Then I just let loose and we began to spin on our knees on the floor until we fell over laughing. I'm not too sure, but from the look on her face, I'd say it's safe to say my mom was pretty disgusted. Ah, I don't care, I had fun. Like I haven't had in a long time. I was a kid again, if only for a few brief minutes before my adult body screamed for me to stop. I had just gotten home from work. I was tired as shit. So we both had to calm down.

Now Gil's asleep on the pull-out sofa-bed in the living room with his mother and two sisters. My mom's snoring her ass off in the room next to mine. Mu�eca the chihuahua's snoozing on her red beanbag in the hallway. I sit here in front of the damn monitor, tired as shit and very nostalgic. How I wish I could go back to that sometimes. Life was so much simpler back then... nicer. My biggest worries were keeping my mud masterpieces from cracking in the hot Mexico sun and finding the biggest and best railroad rocks to crack open with a hammer in the sunset, to watch the golden-red rays catch in the fragments of shattered stone. At night it was all about watching as many Nightmare on Elm Street movies in a row as possible at my uncle's small wooden house. I was a big wuss, and never even finished watching one. My sister was always the brave one. She'd watch at least one and a half, sometimes two whole movies! My cousins, Ricky and Danny, they were pro's, though. They could watch the whole friggin' set back-to-back, I bet. But then again, it was their house we watched the movies in. They probably saw them every night, as opposed to my sister and I that only saw them when we visited. God, I miss that. I miss them, as they were back then. But Danny and I are in college now. Ricky works at a video store, Toty's married, in the military and having a baby. Gil wasn't even thought of back then; I'm eleven whole years older than that kid. Now he's the only one who'll go back to those times with me, because he doesn't really have a choice. My past is his present. His future is my old age. And it will come soon, and along with that will come my parents' deaths, and then my death... and I'm just not sure I'm ready to face all that yet. My body screams at me to sleep now, my mind yells for me to go back in time. My soul...

despairs...

previous - next