Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

pAtRiOtIc?

06 February 2005 - 17:39

The Superbowl's on. I feel somewhere between nostalgic and patriotic. It's hard to describe the feelings I get inside when watching professional All-American sports. I wanna just be there, man. I wanna be in the stadium, and scream like the rest. Kinda the same way I get when I watch Mexico play in El Mundial, or when I watch the Olympics. I walked away from the TV because I was about to start screaming like a maniac. I wonder if everyone gets like this. Then the national anthem made me wanna cry. I felt so proud, so proud to be here. And all of a sudden, I wanted to call the damn Army recruiter, grab a gun, and fight. I thought of my sister in Virginia, all alone, waiting numbly for her husband to come home safe. Then I thought of Alexis, out there, somewhere in Kuwait, fixing tanks and whatnot. Already killed a man at the age of nineteen. Yup. He was nineteen when he killed for the first time in battle. And he was close enough, he says, to see the man in the eyes. How sad. And I didn't know whether to feel sorry for him or if I wanted to join him. I still don't. All I could think of was, if it weren't for all these soldiers that have fought and died, and still fight and die, there would be no damn Superbowl. But my sister wouldn't be lonely either.

previous - next