Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Work in Progress

21 December 2009 - 01:05

I have 51 words left before I meet my daily quota.

Yeah, I haven't been updating this thing much. Been busy, venting elsewhere. I've been stuck in this fantasy world of writing so long, and I was itching to take a break. I'll risk my brain running out of juice.

Few days ago... maybe already two weeks, I decided to take up writing again. No, not in this shit - I do that enough times - I mean writing stories. I've been doing this since I was a kid, making shit up. Over the years, I hope I've gotten better at it. Well, I've had this unfinished project (like all my projects before and since) I dug up out of my hard drive, and stuck it on my thumb drive instead. Now I carry it around and add stuff to it every day. It's a book. If I ever get anything published, I want it to be this one book, with these particular characters. Over the years, I've tried telling this tale in various forms: drawings, short stories, graphic novel/comics, even poetry. I've never completed it; I've never been ready. Still too green, I've told myself.

But now I'm 25, going on 26 come January, and more importantly, my nephew and niece are growing up fast, and the Dud's about to pop her third kid. I want to leave something behind for them... even if it never gets published. I want to finish this. More than anything else in the world, I want to finish this story; I want my own book. And who the fuck am I kidding? Even if my sister's kiddos never even read what I write, I want to finish this book for me, just for me. So I can look at the whole mass of it, smile proudly and say, "That's right, bitch. Who's your daddy? Me, that's fuckin' who." A published work would be nice, preferably in hard cover edition, but I'll settle for a stack of printing paper stapled together and stuck in a binder, title in permanent marker. Ooo! I hadn't even thought of a title yet! In time, in time.

I want to get at least five chapters completed before the end of the year. I'm on Chapter 3 at the moment. Goddamn I'm pleased!

I am really trying to stay with this project this time. This isn't the first time I've started this, even getting a quota and all that. I've never gotten this many pages though, and I don't want to get sidetracked now. Or disillusioned. I don't want to give up this dream of becoming a published author like I've given up on past dreams. Even if it doesn't turn out to be the way I hoped for. Even if I lay an egg instead of cranking out a bestseller. Please, please self, I don't wanna die and not get this done. If nothing comes of it, then I at least want to enjoy the ride.

previous - next