Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Woes of Work

02 February 2007 - 01:13

Angel is teething again. Poor little guy. He was crying just now. Nothing seems to soothe him.

And on to other things.

Since the year started, things were starting to get steadily better at work. Despite all of it though, a part of me was never satisfied. I still am not. *shruggs* I dunno, call it ungratefulness if you will. I hate my job. I just can't get around it anymore. And it frusterates me that I hate it so much because when I started out here, almost two years ago, I really, really enjoyed it. I thought I had finally found my dream career, fuck the job. I didn't think I would ever have to finish school anymore, that was just gonna be a perk; I was gonna be a UPSer for the rest of my working days. I had it all worked out. And then shit started changing, or perhaps it was just that I have barely begun to notice how shitty life at the warehouse really is. I never understood why people told me UPS sucked balls when I started out. "But it's great! I love it here!" I'd say, and they'd just look at me with a pitying expression. Like they knew, which I'm sure they did, that this day would come. Does everyone at UPS go through this, I wonder? I sure hope not, but I get the impression from those around me that they do. Every last one of them. It's so depressing.

I don't know what to do about it, exactly. The only times I'm truly happy at work is when I'm hanging out with my buds at Customer Counter. Norma, Blanca, Nando and Tom really make my day everyday. Especially the girls, God they're crazy. Nando and I share our secret handshake that only his "cool dawgs" know, and everyone there is always making me laugh. I swear, I could stay in the damn postcard room forever. I can see why Zamira wants to transfer over there.

I dunno. Maybe I just need to transfer over to the Preload, get away from all the assholes and the bitches and the problems of the night shift. See new faces, maybe see that kid, Eli, who has hair just like Angel's, again. Or maybe I just need a vacation.

God, I'm really gonna miss Nando when he leaves for the Border Patrol this summer. Maybe as early as this spring. God, what a pisser. I'll have one less buddy to hang with. Not cool.

previous - next