Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

loon to loon

23 November 2012 - 20:24

I think everyone I knew on DiaryLand's gone for good. It makes me a bit sad, but I hope they had a good run here all the same. Maybe I'll go back and read their stuff from the very beginning, reminice. That is not what I wanted to post about anyway.

I've been thinking a lot about Yamil lately, not sure why, and I realized I want him to be a bit more like me. Xenith kinda turned out to be like me (he certainly has some of my flaws), but it kinda grew outta me; it all felt so organic. So far I think he's the only one of my characters that's happened with. Which explains why I like him so much. He's like my miracle child, and he's not even a main character (though now I kinda want him to be). Anyhow, back to Yamil.

He's Xenith's younger brother. One of two, actually; everyone else is older than Xen. Point is, he's insane. Literally: mentally unstable. And in wanting to create an accurate portrayl of insanity, I made it so he's into self-mutilation, and he speaks only in palindromes, usually in passing commentary as some new development occurs around him, but he doesn't quite participate in society. Then the other day I realized I mutter to myself for no apparant reason (other than the fact I'm multiple, of course), and the things I say to myself don't always make sense either. For instance, I often catch myself saying:

"Are you okay?"
"Why do you always ask me that?"

And I'll be annoyed when I answer myself. Or I'll blurt out, "Wow, she's so beautiful," in a whisper, even though there's no one there in the room with me. I swear, sometimes I'll be on the crapper when I carry on like that. So, long story short, I kinda wanna give those phrases to Yamil. At least the one where he asks himself if he's alright. They're not palindromes, but they seem to fit him nonetheless.

We'll see.

previous - next