Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

mother tongue...?

09 December 2008 - 21:34

I know I'm at work, but this will only take a second, and it was funny as fuck, and so I had to mention it here. I'll take this as my 10-minute break, deal?

Well, I'm in a small office within a bigger office. And Juan and Fonzie are in the bigger office, talking smack to each other. I'm not really paying attention, and in all honesty, I usually keep the door closed and never hear them at all, but lately Nacho has been coming into the office to key-in with me, and when he left just now, he left the door open. Point is, I can hear both Juan and the Rookie layin' the smack to each other verbally. And I'm working here, right? So I'm not really paying attention... until this one line gets me:

Fonzie has just finished telling something to Juan, who then just casually replies: "Sorry, man, I don't speak faggotese."

Aw, man! I nearly snorted my Gatorade. Not to be outdone, Fonzie starts to reply, "No? What about--" But Juan's too fast for him, and interjects, "No, not Homonese either." And by now my slight smirk has become a wide grin, accompanied by a snicker.

"What about Bisexualese?" demands Rook in (what I take to be) a weak comeback.

"Nope, sorry man. I don't speak any of your native tongues."

Ok, ya' gotta admit that shit was funny. And I bust out laughing, even though I knew that would make it seem I had been evesdropping on their entire conversation. But they're my buddies, and take it in stride. Plus, Juan loves an audience when he's teaching Fonz that he's still, well, a rookie when it comes to smack-talk. He grins at me from the office and says: "See, this is what you miss out on when you keep the door closed!" And I laugh, of course, and answer, "Yes, exactly. Now I remember why it is I keep it closed." We laughed at each other and got back to work.

previous - next