Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

let the bodies hit the floor...

16 February 2005 - 20:25

'As I walk through the valley in the shadow of death...'

His leg was twitching when I saw him. Against my own will, I had to do a double-take. After all, it's not every day you see a man die.

I judge he was about my age, maybe younger. At the distance I was at, I couldn't tell, couldn't really see his face. I don't think there was any blood. Again, I couldn't tell. And I was too much of a pussy to wander over and investigate.

It all started out normally enough. I sprang out of my seat as soon as Professor Fighter-Pilot told us he'd see us Friday for the test and not to forget our blue books. I trotted down the stairs and out the door I went, my mind at ease, and probably engaged in pondering what to eat when I got home. The guy had to be walking less than ten feet ahead of me. I never heard or saw the impact.

I walked all the way across the student parking lot, heading north, to the overflow parking lot by the university baseball stadium. I didn't complain, even mentally. I never minded the walk. And that's what I get for arriving so late. I got to the edge of the street and considered walking over to the crosswalk at my right. By all means, I should have. That's the way everyone goes, to keep from getting their asses run over by impatient drivers. But I noticed, all the cars along the street were stopped dead in their tire tracks. What the hell? I turned to the crosswalk anyway.

And there he was. Twitching. My mouth went dry. Wait, that couldn't be right. Hence the double-take. But yup, he was still there, unconscious, his body going into contorted spasms. His legs were writhing like snakes with wills of their own. People had already stopped, but the cops weren't there yet. I had missed the accident by about thirty seconds. Students crowded around the crosswalk, indecisive. It was obvious someone had already called 911 and everyone was told to leave the boy where he lay, don't touch him, you might hurt him more than he is. Cars honked behind me. No one knew what was going on. Hell, I didn't know what was going on. The guy looked so young... Same skin tone as my sister, but black straight hair, like me. He was wearing faded jeans and a t-shirt. And he was going into convulsions. Aw, God, it was sick. Really sick.

What made things more wrong was the fact that he was sprawled across the CROSSWALK. The place I had considered transversing through myself, with the false illusion that it was safe. I'll bet he thought that too, and then, WHAM! Reality hit him like a speeding car. Wait, scratch that. It was a speeding car. I felt myself flush with anger. I was frusterated and sorry. I wanted to run to the guy and pick him up, turn him over, make sure he was breathing... But no. With all the commotion, no one dared, not even me.

The university police got there about two minutes later and began to redirect traffic. By this time I had already crossed the street, though I don't really remember how. I was just suddenly in my car, the engine was revved, but I was still on Park, my foot still on the brake. I daren't move. It occured to me that this guy had been headed for his car, too. He was parked in the same lot I was. His could've been the car next to mine. About thirty seconds later, though it seemed like thirty years, the ambulance got there, wailing bloody murder. By the time it stopped at the scence, the boy was no longer moving. It was all very, very, very sickening to me. Everyone present looked so scared. Fascinated, but scared. I was just disgusted. Although, yes, I was very scared myself.

I have seen many people die, animal people, I mean. Birds, reptiles, cats, dogs, you name it. Turtles. When they recieve a blow to the head, they all twitch just like that guy. And they always die. That's how my Jiquiro died, how Kitty died, too. That twitching is never good. That's death's calling card right there. I don't know if the guy died, but I'm pretty sure he did. And he was in the crosswalk. He should have been safe.

SAFE! You hear me?! There's a fuckin' sign that clearly reads: 'STOP for students in crosswalk.' On top of that, it's a university school zone, motherfuckers, that means SLOW THE FUCK DOWN! Is that too hard for your alchohol-induced neurons to process? Is it?! If that boy isn't dead, you can bet your ass he's in a coma, that he will never be the same again, HE WAS CONVULSING, he might be a vegetable for life, or left mentally handicapped or not able to walk or all of them or he's DEAD just because he did what every pedestrian would do and trust that drivers will respect the fuckin' traffic laws!

*sigh* But no. He was stupid to think that, and so was I.

previous - next